Video: How to | Matterport Point Cloud to ArchiCAD Workflow | Video courtesy of Matterport Senior Sales Engineer Si Horton | 2 November 2021

WGAN Forum Related Discussions Taagged:

MatterPak
CAD
✓ ArchiCAD
.OBJ
.XYZ
AEC
As-Builts

Transcript (video above)

Si Horton: [00:00:00] - Hi, my name is Si Horton. I'm a senior sales engineer from Matterport. During the short video, I'd like to show you how we can use the Matterport Point Cloud to take into ArchiCAD to then convert into a 3D model. Once you've captured the space using a multitude of hardware devices that automatically gets uploaded to the Matterport Cloud, processed and the result being [00:00:30] a MatterPak is automatically generated. Now depending on your subscription, these are chargeable.

Si Horton: Once you've downloaded the matter pack, it contains a number of files. Two key ones being an XYZ file, which is a point cloud and an OBJ file, which is a mesh. We can use either of these files to take into a multitude of different CAD systems. In this particular instance, what we're going to do is show you how to take the XYZ file and import it into ArchiCAD to convert [00:01:00] that into a 3D model. Here we have a copy of ArchiCAD 25 installed on my machine.

Si Horton: The first thing we do is to create some layers that we can store our point cloud on when we bring in our various pieces of information. Firstly, I'm going to set up a layer that's called one underscore point cloud. So I know I can turn this on and off. Then we're going to create another one, which is going to be a survey wall. I know that when I look at it, I can isolate my survey walls for my existing point cloud data. [00:01:30] Now we need to import a point cloud. We go to the File menu and the interoperability option and here we have the option to import point clouds.